Skip to content

BOLI Statewide Sick Leave Training

Beginning January 1, 2016…

  • All employers with 10 or more employees (​at least 6 for employers located in Portland) in Oregon must provide up to 40 hours of paid leave per year.
  • Employers with less than 10 employees (less than 6 for employers located in Portland) must provide up to 40 hours of unpaid protected sick time.

The text of the law is available here, and a copy of the final administrative rules can be found here.

Click here for more information.

Statewide Sick Leave Training

Oregon’s Bureau of Labor and Industry’s rules on statewide sick will not be final until late 2016. Take advantage of this introduction and overview of Oregon’s sick leave law, which was effective on January 1, 2016. Topics covered include:

  • Employer requirements to provide paid sick leave and unpaid sick leave
  • Employee requirements to be eligible for sick leave
  • How much paid sick leave an employee is entitled to receive
  • Covered leave events
  • Covered family members
  • Employee notice requirements
  • Dealing with suspected abuse
  • When medical documentation may be required
  • Recordkeeping requirements
  • Incorporating Oregon sick leave into existing time off policies
  • How Oregon sick leave will interplay with other leave laws in Oregon

Who Should Attend

All Oregon employers became subject to Oregon sick leave requirements on January 1, 2016.  Businesses with no paid time off will need to implement policies. Businesses with existing time off policies will likely need to revise policies to conform with new requirements. Click here to view the online seminar calendar. Register early, because classes are filling up!

  • January 20, Eugene, 9:30–11:30 am
  • January 20, Eugene, 1–3 pm
  • January 21, Medford, 9:30–11:30 am
  • January 22, Roseburg, 9:30–11:30 am
  • February 2, Portland, 9–11 am
  • February 8, Coos Bay, 9:30–11:30 am
  • February 9, Florence, 9:30–11:30 am
  • February 10, Lincoln City, 9:30–11:30 am
  • February 11, Tillamook, 9:30–11:30 am
  • February 12, Astoria, 9:30–11:30 am
  • February 16, Portland, 9–11 am
  • February 16, Portland, 1:30–3:30 pm
  • February 22, Portland, 9–11 am
  • February 23, Grants Pass, 9–11 am
  • February 23, Ashland, 2–4 pm
  • February 24, Klamath Falls, 10 am–12 pm
  • February 25, Bend, 9:30–11:30 am
  • February 25, Bend, 1–3 pm
  • February 29, Ontario, 9:30–11:30 am
  • March 1, Baker City, 9–11 am
  • March 2, Enterprise, 9–11 am
  • March 2, LaGrande, 2–4 pm
  • March 3, Pendleton, 9:30–11:30 am
  • March 4, The Dalles, 9:30–11:30 am
  • March 10, Portland, 1:30–3:30 pm
  • March 16, Eugene, 9:30–11:30 am

Click here to view the online seminar calendar

AGC’s Technical Assistance Package

In addition to working with the state legislature and BOLI to soften the impact of the new law, AGC has also developed a detailed, construction-specific, three-part technical assistance package that our members can utilize to ensure full compliance:

  • An overview of the Statewide Mandated Sick Leave Law
  • How to determine whether your company needs to comply with the law, including whether your Collectively Bargained Agreement is one of the few that makes you exempt
  • How to meet the specific requirements of the law, including tracking hours, accrual, front-loading, Paid Time Off policies, usage, and other administrative challenges and tips

If you are interested in the technical assistance package, contact Sarah Coghill, 503-685-8307.

Share This Resource

Related Articles

Pavilion Construction, headquartered in Lake Oswego, Ore. is an AGC Oregon-Columbia Chapter member and is proud to announce Brock Argyropoulos is named VP of Estimating...
Knife River Corporation (NYSE: KNF) recently announced the successful completion of its spinoff from MDU Resources Group, Inc. (NYSE: MDU). As a result of the...
Perlo Construction is pleased to announce Chris Gregg’s new role as president and Devin Koopman’s new role as senior vice president for the company. These...